Gov. Malloy names members of Sandy Hook commission

HARTFORD, Conn. (WTNH) -- Gov. Dannel Malloy on Tuesday released the names of the members of his commission to investigate and make recommendations on policies related to the Sandy Hook Elementary School shooting in Newtown.

The governor announced last week that Mayor Scott Jackson of Hamden would chair the commission. The others are:

Dr. Adrienne Bentman: Director, Adult Psychiatry Residency Program, Hartford Hospital's Institute of Living Ron Chivinski: Teacher, Newtown Middle School Robert Ducibella: Founding Principal, DVS Security Consulting and Engineering Terry Edelstein: Nonprofit Liaison to Governor Malloy Kathleen Flaherty: Staff Attorney, Statewide Legal Services of Connecticut, Inc. / Facilitator and State Trainer, National Alliance for Mental Illness in Connecticut Dr. Alice M. Forrester: Executive Director, Clifford W. Beers Guidance Clinic, Inc. Dr. Ezra Griffith: Professor Emeritus of and Senior Research Scientist in Psychiatry, Deputy Chair for Diversity and Organizational Ethics, Department of Psychiatry, Yale University Patricia Keavney-Maruca: Member, State Board of Education / Former technical high school teacher Christopher Lyddy: Outgoing State Representative, 106th Assembly District of Newtown / Program Manager, Trainer & Consultant, Advanced Trauma Solutions, Inc. / Former Program Director, Youth Equipped for Success!, Forensic Health Services, Inc. / Former Clinical Supervisor, Juvenile Risk Reduction Center, Community Solutions, Inc. [Membership effective January 10, 2013] Denis McCarthy: Fire Chief, City of Norwalk Barbara O'Connor: Director of Public Safety and Chief of Police, University of Connecticut Wayne Sandford: Professor, University of New Haven, Henry C. Lee College of Criminal Justice & Forensic Sciences / Former Deputy Commissioner, Connecticut Department of Emergency Management & Homeland Security / Former Fire Chief, Town of East Haven Dr. David J. Schonfeld: Director, National Center for School Crisis and Bereavement / Professor, University of Cincinnati Department of Pediatrics Dr. Harold I. Schwartz: Chief Psychiatrist, Hartford Hospital's Institute of Living Bernard R. Sullivan: Former Chief of Police, City of Hartford / Former Commissioner, Connecticut Department of Public Safety / Former Chief of Staff to House Speaker Tom Ritter

“I’ve asked this group to join Chairman Scott Jackson so they can begin the task of taking a broad, systemic approach in crafting the recommendations that will lead to comprehensive legislative and policy changes that must occur following the tragedy at Sandy Hook Elementary School,” Gov. Malloy said in a statement.

The group's initial report is due by March 15.

LINK: Sandy Hook Advisory Commission


Copyright 2014 WTNH TV. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Political Pulse

Did you like this article? Vote it up or down! And don't forget to add your comments below!

Like It
Don't Like It


We welcome your thoughtful comments. Be the first to participate in the discussion. All comments will display your username and avatar.


Add a Comment

Sign in or join now to post a comment. All comments will display your username and avatar.


Connecticut (change)

Connecticut has 169 cities and towns, which serve as the fundamental local political subdivision of the state. Connecticut is the 5th of the original thirteen United States.
Offices & Officials

Governor: Dan Malloy
Lieutenant Governor: Nancy Wyman
Attorney General: George Jepsen
State Treasurer: Denise L. Nappier

Contacting the White House and Congress

Click the links below to get in touch with your elected officials.