Senators push to save air traffic control towers

NEW HAVEN, Conn. (WTNH)-- Connecticut's senators have already offered an amendment to restore the funding for air traffic control towers.

The control tower at Tweed New Haven and five other airports in the state were set to close. That was until a last minute push by Connecticut's congressional delegation.

An amendment, proposed by senators Richard Blumenthal and Chris Murphy, passed unanimously in the Senate early Saturday morning.

Their amendment makes it easier to keep federal money for air traffic control towers with no extra cost to tax payers.

As News 8 has been reporting, the FAA was set to close Connecticut airport control towers and 143 others in the country, as part of the budget sequestration.

Blumenthal says passing the amendment and keeping those control towers shows just how important the towers and airports are to the local economy.

"We must do everything possible to ensure those control towers at Tweed and at airports around Connecticut continue, so that we retain those jobs and move economic growth forward, but also public safety is at risk," said Blumenthal.

The fight to keep the control towers open isn't over. While the amendment passed in the Senate, it must now pass in the House.

Copyright 2014 WTNH TV. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Political Pulse

Did you like this article? Vote it up or down! And don't forget to add your comments below!

Like It
Don't Like It


We welcome your thoughtful comments. Be the first to participate in the discussion. All comments will display your username and avatar.


Add a Comment

Sign in or join now to post a comment. All comments will display your username and avatar.


Connecticut (change)

Connecticut has 169 cities and towns, which serve as the fundamental local political subdivision of the state. Connecticut is the 5th of the original thirteen United States.
Offices & Officials

Governor: Dan Malloy
Lieutenant Governor: Nancy Wyman
Attorney General: George Jepsen
State Treasurer: Denise L. Nappier

Contacting the White House and Congress

Click the links below to get in touch with your elected officials.